Shirts on a Frozen Lake

How do t-shirts relate to ice racing? Hmm. Well, our latest design features a couple of ice racers. Also, I assume the ice racers at the race would be wearing t-shirts under all their winter gear, though I’m not sure. Oh, and the fact that we tried selling our shirts at an ice racing event!

When starting something completely new, there’s a level of excitement, but also a level of apprehension. I mean, who would ever expect to see t-shirts being sold on a frozen lake? But sometimes things like that are what gets attention and since we’re a young business, we need as much attention as we can get. Heh, so that’s why we loaded up my truck and ventured to the frozen wilds just beyond our home base to the land of cross country skiers, snowmobilers, and ice racers!

Below: The first time the Crock tent has been set up on ice. It was interesting, to say the least.

Setting up the tent

Below: This is our latest design that Kris printed just in time for the weekend. We also had a snowmobile shirt along with our usual lineup. We were glad to sell a few of the new ice racer shirts! After a couple of them sold, we didn’t feel so ridiculous trying to sell shirts on a frozen lake.

Ice racing t shirt

Below: I had never been to the ice races before, so I was quite surprised to see how fast the action is. I don’t think my balls are big enough to ever try anything like this. Then again, big balls would just get in the way, so maybe I’m better off. Cool to watch, though!

Ice racers racing

Below: I did happen to notice the cracks in the ice under my truck. I’m sure this is typical, but thought I’d take a picture anyway. Vehicle insurance is a good feeling at a time like this, though I don’t know for sure if sinking a truck through ice is covered.

Cracks in the ice under the truck

Below: Day 2 started off with beautiful sunshine and blue sky. It was, however, a bit windy. Wind and t-shirts don’t go well together, so half of our time was spent folding shirts that had blown over on the table. Wind has been my enemy since the late 1980s and early 1990s when I was into golfing. Wind and golf don’t go well together. Stupid wind. Invisible asshole is what it is. I was prepared, though. I was wearing a t-shirt, a long sleeved shirt, a fleecy kinda shirt, a long sleeved thermal shirt, and a hoody. I don’t have a jacket right now because the two that I own have broken zippers. Oh, and I doubled up on socks, though my feet still got cold because my boots are shitty.

Tent in the wind

Below: This is a picture of an even bigger crack that was running between the tent and the truck. I noticed this crack right about the time it started to snow a bit, so we decided to pack it in.

Crack in the ice

Needless to say, it was an interesting weekend. We managed to sell several shirts and have a few laughs, so that was good. That concludes another weekend of Crock of Shirt in this what-the-fuck-am-I-doing-with-my-life stage I’m in hahaha.

Wear a shirt that you love! Crock of Shirt was born to share our passion for drawing and printing quality shirt designs. .

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Shirts
One comment on “Shirts on a Frozen Lake
  1. […] have done this months ago, like in January, but we were too busy trying to do silly shit like sell shirts on a frozen lake. What the hell. Anyway, Kris suggested maybe a maple leaf filled with words would look cool. It […]

Leave a Reply

