Face Light

Here’s another step by step! This particular graphic is pretty simple, but has a cool story behind it… well, I like to think it’s pretty cool. It’s a great example of how things can accidentally pop up and inspire creativity.

As I was saying good night to the kids last night, Paul had an orange nightlight on. The light was projecting a blotch on the ceiling above his bed. We both agreed that the blotch looked like a face. In fact, it looked like a mask, perhaps something a superhero would wear. I immediately had the idea to snap a pic of it with my phone, then draw it out today with the possibility of putting it on a shirt. What follows is what I came up with.

Step 1: This is really, really hard to see, but it’s the original shot of the nightlight blotch on the ceiling.

Dark picture of nightlight

Step 2: I brought it into Photoshop and lightened it, played around with contrast and whatnot. Now you can see a bit of a face, right? It almost looks like a cat. In the middle are two eyes and a mouth. If you don’t see it, follow along until I make something out of it, then you can come back.

Lighter picture of nightlight

Step 3: I rotated the image slightly to make it more level. Then I dropped in a blue guideline to find the centre. I started outlining the left side with the usual red pen tool.

Step 3

Step 4: Left side outlined. I could clearly see the right eye and mouth more clearly, so I traced the right with red.

Step 4

Step 5: This is where laziness comes into play. Copy and mirror the left, then right outlines to create the whole. Kinda looks like a mad apple at this point.

Step 5

Step 6: Adjusting the details! I moved the eyes and mouth down. Also added more space between the eyes and mouth. Look closely and you will notice that I rounded off the points of the corners throughout the graphic. Why? A more consistent look to match the eyes and mouth.

Step 6

Step 7: This is the completed outline of the face.

Step 7

Step 8: Colour! I chose orange because the nightlight is orange. Also, orange is cool. And orange. A dark grey outline was added.

Step 8

Step 9: I threw in some white highlights and one shadow piece. This is pretty simple, but that’s how I wanted it. With the addition of a couple hours of highlighting and shading, this graphic could look totally different. But I have other stuff to do, so that will have to wait!

Step 9

Step 10: One more highlight. I split the face in two to make half of it highlighted to help give the look of a curved surface. Again, highlighting and shading in different areas would be able to visually change the shape and contours of this graphic.

Step 10

Step 11: Not much here except the addition of a black background to make it look more badass. That’s it!

Step 11

Like I said, maybe I will put it on a shirt. Maybe the kids will like it and make it their own superhero character. Stay tuned, friends…

Wear a shirt that you love! Crock of Shirt was born to share our passion for drawing and printing quality shirt designs. .

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Life, Shirts

Leave a Reply

