Drifting: Part 1

I have been riding my bike quite a bit this season. I haven’t been as consistent as I’d like during the past few years, but life has ups and downs – mine’s just mentally more down than up, but that’s another story. Anyway, riding has been great as of late. I’m finding that I’m using the time to both have fun and brainstorm new ideas for drawings. I’ve also had a couple of ideas for some writings, one of which I will share here. I could combine both ideas, but I think they will work better as separate thoughts. This shall be Part 1.

On one of my most recent rides, my mind started to drift as I made my lengthy ascent through the trees. For me, the lengthy ascent is about fitness, time to bash about creative ideas, and the anticipation of the fun of the downhill ride. As I cranked upward and rounded a corner, a distant single track came into view, suddenly spiking my excitement. My drifting mind jolted back to memories of when we were much younger and would go skiing with our parents. On the way up to the ski hill, rounding the corner and seeing the distant ski runs would trigger a similar feeling of excitement! It’s funny how memories work like that – just a sudden flash of something can bring up visuals and feelings from nearly 30 years ago. The excited anticipation of upcoming fun still feels the same! Ripping downhill, hitting little jumps, darting through the trees – both on bike and skis.

Ha, except back then, there’s no way in hell I’d ever pedal a bike up a hill or go skiing without a lift.

trail_trees

See the trail? I even circled it for you. Feeling excited yet?

Stay tuned for part 2!

Wear a shirt that you love! Crock of Shirt was born to share our passion for drawing and printing quality shirt designs. .

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

